2015!!!

Hi World!

I am  looking forward to 2015.

This year I am doing a film internship under the amazing Shelly Barry (Google her, yo). I am learning to make documentaries and my focus is on socio-political BGP (brown girl power) things that interest me. Nancy things that don’t matter!

I am also working with a new and talented producer, a childhood friend and a great filmmaker, Stefan Steyn. He is from Matroosfontein, Elsies River, where I am from. This is significant for me because it is important to make music with someone who understands where I come from and the things that matter to me. I am ecstatic about the music I am about to drop. It features a lot of queer, political, hip hop, thug, and #dope content. I am kak excited to flex on some dope beats and generally kill and redefine the game.

This year also marks my second year as director of the grassroots organisation, The Intombi Workshop. This year, we hope to expand the access to arts education to the young girls at Marian High School. I feel extremely inspired to create change in the community I come from, as I have been so generously blessed with opportunity in my life.

I am also squeezing in time to study part-time, for a full time course and work to make some extra CASH MONEY.

I have been spending a lot of time outside the CBD, nurturing friendships with the people I grew up with and ALSO, learning to GAYLE fluently. If you don’t know, Gayle is gay, urban, queer slang mostly practiced in the Cape Flats, where I have been spending a lot of time recently- visiting my family en soe.

There are a lot of collaborations coming up for me this year. I am working with different artists, fashion designers, producers and activists on a large variety of projects, so there is a lot to look forward to.

To those of you who have reached out and who follow and support what I do, THANK YOU SO MUCH! I can’t explain how much I appreciate your support.

Stay dope. Dala what you must. STAY IN TOUCH. Never #keepintouch

Cat

Leave a Reply

